Dullstroom: Haunted Moon tutorial

As I promised ages ago, here is a tutorial on how I created this photo:

image

For the photo of the moon, I used: a Canon EOS 1100D, a manual 170-500mm lens, Manual, partial metering, ISO 800, 1/40th/sec, and f5.

IMG_9743-16

For the photo of the tree, I used: a Canon EOS 1100D, an 18-55mm lens, Manual, partial metering, ISO 400, 1/640th/sec, and f5.6.

IMG_9558-1

  1. Post-processing began with opening both photos as layers in Photoshop.
  2. To prepare it for the final image, I turned the moon into black and white, and used a filter to reduce noise.
  3. I then selected the moon, made a new layer out of the selection, and deleted the old layer.
  4. By clicking “Select – colour range” I selected the blues in the sky. I inverted the selection in order to select the tree and its branches, and made a new layer containing a copy of the tree.
  5.  I reordered the layers so that the tree-with-the-sky was at the bottom, the moon was in the middle, and the tree at the top (this means that the moon was between the sky and the tree).
  6. I used free transform (Ctrl/t) to change the size and position of the moon, until I was satisfied.
  7. Finally, I used adjustment layers to convert to black and white, create an infrared effect (by pushing the reds) and increase contrast using curves.
2 thoughts on “Dullstroom: Haunted Moon tutorial

Leave a Reply

