Project 365: Week 21

This week I decided my theme was going to be ‘music’.  Despite no one in the family currently playing a musical instrument, we have a few of them lying around from previous years.

Sunday, 17 May

Sunday, 17 May

A dusty keyboard – I waited until it was almost dark before taking this image, in order to create those beautiful long shadows. I used side light, which illuminated the covering of dust on the keys. I processed it using the ‘Creamtone’ preset in Lightroom.

image

Monday, 18 May

A harmonious blend – I tried to push my Photoshop skills by trying out the double exposure effect which is trending at the moment. This image consists of two photos; one of the piano and one of the music. I played with different blending modes before settling on ‘overlay’. Finally, I opened the image in Lightroom and applied a vintage preset.

Tuesday, 19 May

Tuesday, 19 May

The guitarist’s compositions – Again, I wanted to try a double exposure effect. My base image was simply of a guitar against a bright background; I used this to extrapolate the silhouette of the guitar.  To create the inside of the guitar, I took several photos of sheet music, and to create the background I downloaded a few free textures off the internet.

Wednesday, 20 May

Wednesday, 20 May

Evening prayer – I think this is one of my favourite images. I took two photos; one where I exposed for the candle, and another where I exposed for the music book.  I combined them in Photoshop using layer masks, and added a couple of adjustment masks to make the tone of the music book warmer.

Thursday, 21 May

Thursday, 21 May

I’d do Anything for Love – this image was also the result of two photos; one of the scene and another of the sound track on the iPod. After blending, I applied two tilt-shift filters, added contrast, and a vignette effect.

Friday, 22 May

Friday, 22 May

Incoherent symphony – I’m not a big fan of blown out highlights (I’d much rather have shadows!) but I actually think that they enhance this photo.  I also loved the texture of the guitar.  For more images of my brother’s old guitar, see my post, Broken.

Saturday, 23 May

Saturday, 23 May

In the line of fire – yesterday evening I attended a “burnout”; basically a firefighting training exercise. I’ll try and post more images from the event soon.

Sunday, 24 May

Sunday, 24 May

The little singeress – this afternoon I attended a June Krous Student Concert, which my cousin took part in.  The singers were excellent, but my favourite part of the show was still my ability to photograph the event.

Leave a Reply

