Project 365: Week 22

Welcome to another week of my 365 project. I can’t believe we’re at the end of May already!

Monday, 25 May

Monday, 25 May

Falling light – First, I should tell you that it was very difficult to get this photo.  Either the water wasn’t lit up, or the background was too bright, or the light was in the photo, or- Well, you get my point.  Despite what the photo actually looked like, I was happy to finally load it onto my computer.

Tuesday, 26 May

Tuesday, 26 May

A rose by any other colour – I had set out to capture a simplistic, black and white, low-key image of a rose; however, as I was playing around with my LED light, I realised I quite liked the effect created by using backlight.  I think the yellow and blue complement each other well, to produce an interesting image.

Wednesday, 27 May

Wednesday, 27 May

Tarnished value – I took this image using a reversed-macro technique, combined with on-camera flash.  As the image still didn’t have quite the effect I desired, I attached a piece of tinfoil a couple of centimetres from my flash.  This brought out the texture on the coin, and returned some contrast.

Thursday, 28 May

Thursday, 28 May

A worn brogan – This is actually one of a pair of new boots of mine; I superimposed two textured layers over the image, in Photoshop, to create this antique effect.

Friday, 29 May

Friday, 29 May

Pensive – As my birthday was on Friday, I thought it only right to take a photo of myself.  I used my new flash ( a gift which you will be hearing a lot about over the next few weeks!) along with a scrim (a diffuser) to light the image.  Needless to say, much trial and error occurred, but over an hour later I accomplished this image.

Saturday, 30 May

Saturday, 30 May

Affable – This is my mom, who allowed me to photograph her for a family series I’m doing for one of our walls.  For the first time I got to see in person the difference between using regular flash vs bounce flash; this image was taken with the flash aimed at the ceiling, and the little white reflector card pulled out to create the catch lights.

Sunday, 31 May

Sunday, 31 May

Attentive – This is a portrait of my father, which is also going towards the series.  I used a flash aimed from camera-right, with a scrim in front of it.

Have a good week!

One thought on “Project 365: Week 22

Leave a Reply

