Project 365: Week 24

This past week I’ve been focusing on taking photos of food.  I haven’t done much food photography since the workshop I went to in January, and I decided it’s about time that that changes.

07 June

07 June

Three wise monkeys – These are my cousins, who let me photograph them in connection to last week’s theme (thanks guys!). This image was an attempted replica of the ‘see no evil, speak no evil, hear no evil’ monkeys.

08 June

08 June

Unconventional dessert – This was a piece of milktart (store-bought from Woolworths), on top of a very scratched baking tray.  I also added some peanut M&Ms for a pop of colour.  I lit the scene with backlight, by aiming my flash at an angle towards the ceiling.

09 June

09 June

A steamy brew – In order to create and illuminate the steam, I poured boiling water into the mug, and then placed my flash behind it.

10 June

10 June

A munch of radishes – I loved the colour of these radishes, so I arranged them in a pile on a baking tray, with a very similar set-up to the milktart scene.

11 June

11 June

Spilled milk – I got the inspiration for this shot from photographer Giammaria Zanella, who did an ‘explosive breakfast‘ series.  Unfortunately, it wasn’t nearly as easy as it looks and sounds to get the milk to splash in the right place; much drying and cleaning-up occurred between shots.  In the end, this was my only vaguely-successful image out of the lot.

12 June

12 June

Like two seeds in a pepper – This is simply a bell pepper, sliced in half, and placed on a griddle pan.  I  tried to use both the natural lines in the pepper and the lines in the pan to draw the viewer’s eye through the image.

13 June

13 June

Sliced segments – In order to illuminated the seeds, I set up a little table consisting of some cushions, a piece of glass from a photo frame, and a piece of paper. The cucumber went on top of the paper, and my flash went under the glass.

14 June

14 June

Icy refreshments – I spotted a link to this video by  when browsing 500px ISO this morning, and so I decided to try it.  I set up a crinkled tinfoil background against one cupboard, poured some Iced Tea into a glass, and placed a piece of glass under the drink. I’ll share my post-processing of this image soon.

I hope you enjoyed this week’s photos! Have a good week!

Leave a Reply

