Project 365: Week 25

I don’t generally follow trends too closely, but I actually really like the current double exposure trend; so much so that I decided to dedicate this week to it.

15 June

15 June

Moiety – This was sort of leftover from last week’s theme.  I started out wanting to create a backlit image of some red onions; when that didn’t work I got out an old, scratched pan, and piled a few pieces of onion on top of it.  Later, when I loaded the images onto my computer, I realised that in none of them was the focus in the right place.  I ended up improvising with a close crop.

16 June

16 June

Coolly detached – I think this is actually my favourite image, though it was my first.  I wanted to put across an impression of being cold, both emotionally and physically.  For the self-portrait component I dressed in a jacket, scarf and beanie, and then aimed my flash at the wall behind me.  The post-processing was all done in Photoshop.

17 June

17 June

Flabellum – I used my flash to create the extreme contrast in this image; basically, I held it in the air above my head and crossed my fingers.

18 June

18 June

Flurrying snow – I used the same lighting to capture this image as in the first image; a flash aimed at the wall behind (or in this case, in front of) me.  For the background, I placed a flash inside a plastic bag, and then backlit the splashes created by an outside tap.  All the toning was done in Photoshop.

19 June

19 June

Predictions of the future – I simply wanted to represent the symbolic nature of palm lines in this image.  It consists of two images, one of a map, and one of the inside of my hand.

20 June

20 June

Fortitude – The background of this image is actually made up of an aerial image I took years ago of a patch of scrub-covered ground near the Grand Canyon, just outside Las Vegas. I will hopefully have a chance to share a tutorial on the post-production work soon.

All of my double exposure images from the past week were done in part using a Photoshop action.

Leave a Reply

