Project 365: Week 28

This past week my focus has been on abstract, macro photography. When I first started photography a few years ago, my favourite go-to genre was macro photography. Over the past few days, I managed to regain my passion, with the help of my flash.  I had forgotten how amazing the world is up close! I took all of the following photos using the reversed-macro technique, with an old manual lens, which allows me to manually change the aperture.

Sunday, 5 July

Sunday, 5 July

Reams of paper – this is of a stack of different types of paper. I bounced flash of the ceiling and the white wall behind the paper, hence the soft backlight.

Monday, 6 July

Monday, 6 July

Picking straws – I’ve seen a few macro images of the tops of straws on 500px, and wanted to try it myself. I attached a few straws together with an elastic, propped them in a glass, and bounced the flash off the ceiling and wall.  I love the slight colour-leak in the top corners, and the way the shadows were tinted by the colours of the straws.

Tuesday, 7 July

Tuesday, 7 July

Paternal pollination – This is an extreme close-up of the pollen-producing organs inside a rose.  The photo was tinged pink and orange by the rose petals, and by a slight light-leak in the corner.

Wednesday, 8 July

Wednesday, 8 July

Wither – I was walking around our garden the other day, looking for a new subject to photograph, when I spotted the small, shriveled flowers on our hydrangea bush.  Using side-flash, I excacerbated the texture of the flowers, and created a higher contrast image.  I added a slight tilt-shift effect in Lightroom, but the colours are entirely natural.

Thursday, 9 July

Thursday, 9 July

Lonely lady in red – it took a lot of trial and error to get this shot; I wanted a large depth of field, but decreasing the size of my aperture meant that very little light travelled through my viewfinder, and focus was hit-or-miss.  I isolated the flower from the background by using a high-zoom flash, and then darkened it further in Lightroom.

Friday, 10 July

Friday, 10 July

Ocean fossil – This is a very small part of a fossilized shell I found many years ago.  I used quite harsh side-light, to create dark shadows which portray depth.

Saturday, 11 July

Saturday, 11 July

Lens-to-eyeball – I love looking at macro images of irises, but have never tried it before now.  This is my cousin’s eye (thanks Jess!), which I lit with side-flash.  I debated removing the reflection in the pupil, but then decided it adds to the image.

Enjoy the rest of your week!

Leave a Reply

