Project 365: Week 29

I enjoyed doing macro photography so much last week that I decided to focus on it again this week.

Sunday, 12 July

Sunday, 12 July

Pied anthers – it’s been such a long time since I’ve had living orchids that when we were given a beautiful purple orchid from guests, I just had to photograph it.  I think orchids can make a very bland image because of their lack of contrast, but they have gorgeous anthers which I tried to bring to life.

Monday, 13 July

Monday, 13 July

Floral embryos – At first I had planned to take a photo of the matured flowers on this plant, but then the buds gave me a new idea.  I took an extreme close-up of a bud, and used the flowers to create a purple background.

Tuesday, 14 July

Tuesday, 14 July

Spicate (having spikes, as a plant) – I used side-flash with a zoom of 105 to illuminate the spikes, but unfortunately ended up having to change the lighting in post-, adding an extreme vignette.

Wednesday, 15 July

Wednesday, 15 July

Pink button – I love the delicate little flowers which form a ground cover in parts of our garden.  When I initially took the image outside, I found the background was too distracting, so I brought the flower into my ‘studio’ instead. I lit the image with undiffused side-flash.

Thursday, 16 July

Thursday, 16 July

Radiant – My helper’s daughter was kind enough to pose for me on Thursday; I was so grateful to finally have an eager model full of ideas!  In this shot, she lay on her stomach with her chin propped on her hand, and I bounced flash off the ceiling from the side.

Friday, 17 July

Friday, 17 July

Cultivation – I love the idea of capturing a plant in its entirety, from the leaves to a delicate root network.  With this in mind, I went into my garden and carefully picked a few weeds until I found one with satisfying roots.  I brought the plant inside and photographed it against a black piece of paper with undiffused side-flash.

Saturday, 19 July

Saturday, 18 July

Denim sutures – I love the texture of denim, especially when a contrasting stitch is added; plus, stitches can make for an interesting composition.  I tried to keep it simple in this image; I went up close, used bounce flash, and lined up the stitches according to the rule of thirds.

Sunday, 19 July

Sunday, 19 July

Sneakers – This is one of a pair of my mother’s sneakers.  I wanted to create a soft, almost commercial-type image, by using bounced back-flash and the reverse-macro technique.

Enjoy the rest of your week!

2 thoughts on “Project 365: Week 29

Leave a Reply

