Project 365: Week 31

This wee I decided to focus on shooting entertainment-themed images, i.e. games and toys, inspired by my previous images of lego.

Sunday, 26 July

Sunday, 26 July

Friendship – my intention with this image was to produce something that might, for instance, be found on the wall of a young child’s playroom. I kept it simple, aligning two lego animals on a table and aiming my flash at the wall behind them. I wasn’t happy with the background, so I opened up a blank document in Photoshop, created a circle gradient, and pasted the animals on top of it.

Monday, 27 July

Monday, 27 July

The Flash – for me, this photo epitomizes a ‘make-do’ image; I placed my tripod in the parking lot of the Wanderers’ Club, after a disappointing meeting with one of the photography clubs I belong to.  I had no remote trigger, but I set my shutter speed to around 3″ and hoped for the best.

Tuesday, 28 July

Tuesday, 28 July

The Beautiful Game – I’ve wanted to play with the shadows on my foosball table for a while now, and thought it fit very well with week’s theme.  As you can see by the slight haziness in the top right corner, I placed my flash just outside the frame of the image, to create high contrast, some slight silhouettes, and gorgeous long shadows.

Wednesday, 29 July

Wednesday, 29 July

Dominoes – I aimed to create a slightly high-key image, with high contrast, bright highlights, and deep shadows.  My undiffused flash was placed behind and to the side of the dominoes, until I was happy with the direction of the shadows.  I played with the composition, but in the end I preferred the images where I was slightly above the subject.

Thursday, 30 July

Thursday, 30 July

Ghosted die – This is my first image where I played with using more than one flash, and with Slave Mode (when an external flash is triggered by the light of another flash).  I set my shutter speed to 15 seconds, and because my external flash is not Canon, I set my on-camera flash to second-curtain shutter sync.  Then I placed a dice on a piece of white paper, started the exposure, and rolled two other die past the first one every three seconds.

Friday, 31 July

Friday, 31 July

Among the fallen – in this image I tried to personify the chess pieces, using harsh back-flash and a reflector.  I’ll let the rest of the image speak for itself.

Saturday, 01 August

Saturday, 01 August

House of cards – I had so much fun lighting this scene, I’ll definitely be doing more experimenting with lighting from now on.  I used my on-camera flash for fill-light, held my external flash (set to Slave Mode) directly over the cards, and then used my little LED light as backlight (I used a shutter-speed of 13 seconds to ensure the LED had an effect).

Enjoy the rest of your week!

Leave a Reply

