Project 365: Week 32

I have long admired levitation photography – the almost ethereal photos portraying people or objects floating in mid-air.  Last Monday, I attended a (rather disappointing) photographic club meeting, which was based on this subject.  It didn’t teach me anything I didn’t already know, but it was enough to encourage me to spend this week on levitation photography.

Sunday, 02 August

Sunday, 02 August

Black angel – I tried to start out simple in terms of poses, doing a simple standing self-portrait which I made into a fantastical composite image.  I shot the portrait against a white background (to make selecting it in Photoshop easier) and then pasted it on top of a cropped landscape image, adding small adjustments (Camera Raw filters, etc.) as I went.  I then added the other layers.

Monday, 03 August

Chopped – I have seen so many images of ‘flying fruit’ but I still love the end result; clean, minimalistic, simple.  I again shot against a plain white background.  I held the tomatoes in place using a knitting needle, which I removed in Photoshop using a layer mask.

Tuesday, 04 August

Tuesday, 04 August

The knife’s edge – When my mind went blank on Tuesday, I decided to default to a macro image.  I placed a knife with a serrated edge on top of some white material (which, when in conjunction with a very shallow depth of field, created a soft-box-like effect) and then bounced a flash off the ceiling from behind the subject.

Wednesday, 05 August

Wednesday, 05 August

Zen yogi – I love the images of people in yoga poses floating in the air, but when I saw Charlotte Hu’s image on 500px I had to try it. I sat on a step above a dark background, and then used undiffused, quite harsh side-flash.  I cropped and removed the step in Photoshop.

Thursday, 06 August

Thursday, 06 August

Charlie – This is Charlie, a month-old guinea pig and the newest addition to our family.  When I spotted him curled up inside a jersey of mine I just had to take a photo.

Friday, 07 August

Friday, 07 August

On cloud nine – I wanted to create the illusion of a girl flying on horseback, above a horse walking on a cloud.  The girl and horse were made of lego; the cloud of cotton wool, and the background of a pale blue blanket.  I made the girl the ‘fly’ by using nylon threads tied to her ponytail.  The cloud was taken in a separate image and added in later.

Saturday, 08 August

Saturday, 08 August

Zigzag refraction – This is another thing which I have wanted to try for a while; a simple image portraying the refraction of light through a glass.  To make the image more interesting, I placed the glass on a little platform, which I then removed in Photoshop.

Enjoy the rest of your week!

One thought on “Project 365: Week 32

Leave a comment