Project 365: Week 33

It’s been a while since I photographed my pets, who used to be my favourite subject (until they learned to run away from my camera, that is).  I decided to focus on them this week, particularly on Charlie, a couple-month old guinea pig who is the newest addition to our family.

Sunday, 09 August

Sunday, 09 August

Rapt – This is Romulus, my little beagle. I used his beloved squeaky tennis ball to capture his attention, and then fired my (bounced) flash from camera right.

Monday, 10 August

Monday, 10 August

Complacent – As Charlie has an unfortunate dislike for open spaces, I thought I’d start by having my mom hold him.  I bounced the flash from camera left, and slightly to the back, in order to catch the light in his whiskers.

Tuesday, 11 August

Tuesday, 11 August

Want – my initial intention with this image was to create an almost comically wide angle shot, with Tinkerbell’s nose as the main focus.  I turned my lens to 18mm, and added a +2 and a +4 macro filter (hence the purple fringing, also known as chromatic aberration).  My flash was bounced off the wall in front of the subject.

Wednesday, 12 August

Wednesday, 12 August

Scholarly – I wanted to create an antique-looking image of Charlie sitting on some old books, but ended up using a close square crop.  My flash was bounced from camera left.

Thursday, 13 August

Thursday, 13 August

Tea-time – Charlie was quite happy to sit in a mug while I bounced my flash off the wall to camera right.

Friday, 14 August

Friday, 14 August

Strength – This is Romulus again, this time sprinting after his tennis ball.  I fired my flash towards his face, and set my shutter speed to 1/50, to create some motion blur.

Enjoy the rest of your week!

Leave a Reply

