Project 365: Week 34

I spent the last week at Mokala National Park; it was wonderful, but unfortunately tiring and outside reception range, hence the lack of a post yesterday.  Most of my images are from the trip.

Saturday, 15 August

Saturday, 15 August

Celestial silhouette – On Saturday I went on a star-trails workshop at Heia Safari Lodge.  This image consisted of about 90 images, each of a 30second exposure.  I blended them in Photoshop using the Lighten blend mode and then increased the blues in the image in Lightroom.

Sunday, 16 August

Sunday, 16 August

A grand adventure – I finally took Rusty for a trip outside; I really should know by now that he’s not a fan of adventure, but he still made a cute photo by sitting in one place.  I took the image with natural, afternoon light, and tried to create a bit of rim light with the sun.

Monday, 17 August

Monday, 17 August

Iris – This is my mom’s eye, which she allowed me to photograph.  I used the reverse-lens macro technique, and a flash from the side.

Tuesday, 18 August

Tuesday, 18 August

Falling flowers – I tried to create a slightly antique looking flower still-life, minimalistic and lit by soft “window” light.  The light came from my flash reflected off of a golden reflector.

Wednesday, 19 August

Wednesday, 19 August

Pollen – This was taken my first night at Mokala.  I was tired after a long day of travelling, so I decided to keep my photo in camp.  I lit it with harsh, undiffused side-light from my flash.

Thursday, 20 August

Thursday, 20 August

The angel eland – I took this photo first thing in the morning, on a game drive, while the sun was rising.  My camera was facing into the east (i.e. my image was backlit) which created the rim light.

Friday, 21 August

Friday, 21 August

The social weaver – This cute little guy is a social weaver.  We watched several of them pass in and out of their nest, and this guy stopped for a moment to peer at his companions, giving me a chance to photograph him.

Saturday, 22 August

Saturday, 22 August

Silent waterbuck – I spotted this waterbuck while sitting at a bird hide inside the park.  As the image was pretty much monotone, I decided to convert it to black and white.

Enjoy the rest of your week!

Leave a Reply

