Project 365: Week 35

This week I decided to more-or-less focus on portraits, in preparation for my first ‘gig’ in a couple of weeks.  My parents ended up serving as my victims subjects.

Sunday, 23 August

Sunday, 23 August

On the open road – I took this while leaving Mokala National Park, during the sunrise.  It is a single exposure, which I duplicated and blended into an HDR-style image.

Monday, 24 August

Monday, 24 August

Safety lace – I had the idea to pose Charlie in a shoe (cliché but cute, I think) a while ago, but never acted on it until now.  This is my dad’s shoe, which I placed against a black backdrop.  I only saw afterwards that Charlie had been quietly holding a lace in his mouth.

Tuesday, 25 August

Tuesday, 25 August

Classic – this is my version of a classic, professional headshot; stark front-lighting (my flash was shot through a scrim), little facial expression, and the subject looking straight into the camera.

Wednesday, 26 August

Wednesday, 26 August

Confidante – I started out this shot by experimenting with lighting; in the end I shot my flash through a scrim, which I held slightly above and to the side of my mother’s face.  The close proximity of the very diffused lighting resulted in those beautiful catch-lights.

Thursday, 27 August

Thursday, 27 August

Hairy – Clearly, it didn’t take me long to get over my portraits phase!  This is a dead insect (I don’t know what kind) which I found.  I used the reverse-lens macro technique, with undiffused flash.

Friday, 28 August

Friday, 28 August

The Spadix’ shadow – Our garden finally produced a decent, living flower!  This is one of our lilies (which usually shrivel and die before maturing).  I tried so many different lighting scenarios, trying to get the flower to be backlit without intense highlights or flare, that I’m not sure how I lit this particular image; I think with a small but powerful torch shone from above.

Saturday, 29 August

Saturday, 29 August

Holy matrimony – These are my parents, in one of my first (I think) successful natural light portraits.  I took the image in our garden at around 3:30pm; meaning the light was soft but not golden.  To minimise contrast and add a slight rim light (notice the soft highlights outlining my father), I positioned the sun behind them.

Enjoy the rest of your week!

One thought on “Project 365: Week 35

Leave a Reply

