Project 365: Week 36

I’ve been doing some more portraiture this week, focusing on my rim light technique in particular.  The term ‘rim-light’ describes the halo effect produced by a backlit subject against a dark background.  It can be achieved with a simple one-light set-up, with a speedlight hidden behind the subject.  Be careful that the speedlight is entirely hidden, so as to prevent flare.

Sunday, 30 August

Sunday, 30 August

Strawberry gloss – I got the idea to do this from a photography book of mine.  I shot the image of my lips, warped them in Photoshop until I was happy with their shape, and blended them with a strawberry which I downloaded offline.

Monday, 01 September

Monday, 01 September

Under the Sun –  A high-angle is generally a very flattering angle for portraits.  The angle also created a line along my mother’s jaw and down her neck, which I used to draw the eye, along with the line created by the rim of the hat.  The image was taken during the late afternoon, with all-natural light except for the back-light illuminating the rim of the hat.

Tuesday, 02 September

Tuesday, 02 September

The Green Light – I waited until after the sun had set (at around 6:30pm), and then shot the tree from lying down on the ground.  The scene was lit by my flash, which was held up in the air from camera-left.

Wednesday, 03 September

Wednesday, 03 September

Standing tall – While I’m very grateful for all of my mom’s posing, I decided I really needed to branch out a bit in terms of subjects. I took my camera with to school on Wednesday, where one of my friends allowed me to photograph her, using rim-light.  The lower angle increased the perception of height (useful for short subjects) and her crossed-arms created a visually pleasing geometrical shape.

Thursday, 04 September

Thursday, 04 September

Triangles – This is another of my friends, also lit with rim-lighting. I tried to create a more visually-pleasing image by getting her to shift her weight onto her back hip, and putting her hand on her hip.  This created two triangles, adjoined by a line which draws the eye from the top to the bottom of the image and back again.

Friday, 04 September

Friday, 04 September

Mother duckling – By Friday I was back to photographing my mom again.  I stood on a step to create the higher angle, and again used rim-light.

Saturday, 05 September

Saturday, 05 September

Ladies’ Day – yesterday my mom and I attended a Ladies’ Day hosted by the Marian Rose Foundation.  I of course took my camera with me, along with my ‘nifty-fifty’ f1.8 lens.  This unlucky victim was in charge of one of the stalls.  I happened to be photographing her just as my mom walked into the frame; her face, along with the woman walking on camera-right, created a natural frame which I loved.

Sunday, 06 September

Sunday, 06 September

The Marion Rose Foundation – Everyone who attended the event yesterday was gifted with a mug, hot chocolate powder and mini marshmallows.  My mother prepared the hot chocolate while I set up the scene; my white backdrop was hung behind the mug, and strung with Christmas lights.  My flash was fired from behind the mug, to illuminate the tray and the edges of the mug.

Enjoy the rest of your week!

Leave a Reply

