Project 365: Week 38

I decided to take a break from portraiture this week, and focus on abstract macro photography (again) while I waited for the opportunity to go on a shopping spree (last weekend’s lighting course really made me realise that my kit was lacking!).

Friday, 10 September

Friday, 10 September

Prom-night – This is one of the images I took at the shoot on Friday.  I positioned ‘my subject’ on a stairway, while I stood on the level above.  The light came from a large window, and then I boosted the shadows with a reflector.

Saturday, 11 September

Saturday, 11 September

Tassels – This is actually a close-up of our dogs’ toy, which I shot late Saturday afternoon after a long day at my course.  I lit it with harsh flash.

Sunday, 12 September

Sunday, 12 September

Aurous – This was an image from the practical aspect of the course – it was taken at about 3pm, with the sun as a back-light and a huge reflector as the primary light source.  The reflector was held at an angle, which resulted in split-lighting.

Monday, 13 September

Monday, 13 September

Sprinkled with anthers – believe it or not, this is actually a macro shot of a bottle brush.  I positioned my flash slightly behind it to create back-light.  The vignetting is almost entirely natural.

Tuesday, 14 September

Tuesday, 14 September

Frost – I changed the colour of this image in-camera to create a slightly wintry feel (clearly I’m missing winter already!).  My flash was actually bounced off my pants (weird, I know, but I didn’t have my reflector with me).  This created a very orange-tinge, prompting me to change my white balance.

Wednesday, 15 September

Wednesday, 15 September

Fissures – This ended up becoming the start of my vintage tone curve obsession (basically when one drags up the blacks in the tone curve to create a vintage effect). The image is of a small section of tree bark.

Thursday, 16 September

Thursday, 16 September

Cheeky – Charlie is getting so big! Realising this, I decided to take some more photos of him.  I took this image with my 70-300mm lens set on ‘macro’.

Friday, 17 September

Friday, 17 September

Wash-day – This was baby Charlie’s first ever bath. He seemed a bit taken aback at the thought of sitting in water only to be covered in strange smelling stuff, but complied nonetheless.  While he was still all soapy I took a quick photo with my “nifty-fifty”.  I had my flash aimed at the ceiling, simply to increase the amount of light in the room.

Enjoy the rest of your week!

3 thoughts on “Project 365: Week 38

  1. Ashleigh, I’ve never used flash with my camera before, so I really found your post instructing and instructive. Thanks for not only sharing the results but also your how-to’s! Beautiful lighting on all, though for some reason I am particularly drawn to the macro of the red bottle brush (and, of course, adorable Charlie😄).

Leave a Reply

