Project 365: Week 39

Last weekend I was able to go out and buy all the camera stuff I wanted – namely a flash gels kit, a flash bender (which can also be used as a snoot to direct the light exactly where you want it), a stand for my flash, a shoot-through umbrella, and an umbrella holder which fits onto the top of the flash stand.  These allowed me to bring my brief portraiture hiatus to a halt.

This week, I decided to focus on self-portraiture.  I think self-portraits can be invaluable for photographers, because they teach you how to pose, and therefore how to direct others for better images.  They also give you the opportunity to try out the weird things that others (for instance family and friends) don’t have the time or patience for.

Saturday, 18 September

Saturday, 18 September

Sitting pretty – I took this the afternoon after my purchases.  Tinkerbell, my beagle, lay down on the paving in front of our garage, creating leading lines.  My flash, which had an orange gel and umbrella on it, came from behind and to camera left.

Sunday, 19 September

Sunday, 19 September

Wide-eyed vintage – I decided to start simple; a basic portrait with very soft front/side-lighting.

Monday, 21 September

Monday, 21 September

High-end pj’s – I began with the idea of a cool, wintry shot. This morphed into what I feel is a more high-end, fashion shot, despite the fact that I was wearing pyjamas and (dare I say it?) hadn’t even brushed my hair!

Tuesday, 22 September

Tuesday, 22 September

Caught in the storm – So, yes, things went dark pretty fast… I wanted to do another fashion-type shot, but with a more sinister connotation.  I wet my hair and misted my face to create a caught-in-the-rain shot.  My flash went off from camera left to create dramatic split-lighting.

Wednesday, 23 September

Wednesday, 23 September

Hands – This is an idea I’ve had for a while; to take two images, one of my hands and the other of my face, and merge them in Photoshop. The final product wasn’t exactly what I had pictured, but after some fiddling in post-production I was happy.

Thursday, 24 September

Thursday, 24 September

Allure – This shot ended up being another fashion-type photo.  My flash, which was shot through an umbrella, was position close to my face, to camera right.

Friday, 25 September

Friday, 25 September

Lady in black – This started out as my interpretation of an image I saw on YouPic, but then morphed into my own image (as tends to happen).  I used very harsh, undiffused flash from above and in front of me, in the style of butterfly lighting.

Enjoy the rest of your week!

6 thoughts on “Project 365: Week 39

Leave a Reply

