Project 365: Week 40

I love putting scenes together for still-life photography, so this week I decided to focus on the one kind of still-life photography which people actually pay money for: product photography.  While I hate the idea of having to take a photo which represents someone else’s vision, I quite like the style of product/studio photos; they are generally clean, minimalistic, and simply composed.

Saturday, 26 October

Saturday, 26 October

Profile – This is a left-over from last week‘s selfie theme. To get this shot, I used harsh side-light, aimed directly at me.

Sunday, 26 September

Sunday, 26 September

Lipstick – I ended up being quite disappointed with this shot; it didn’t turn out quite as I’d hoped.  I had my flash behind and to the side of the lipstick, and my reflector on the other side.

Monday, 27 September

Monday, 27 September

The Crystal Chalice – I love these simple, quick studio shots; no one could guess (I hope) that this was a five minute set-up.  My flash, containing a blue gel, was aimed at the cupboard behind the glass.

Tuesday, 29 September

Tuesday, 29 September

Mascara brushes – This was another backlit shot, where my flash was aimed at the cupboard behind the brushes.  I held a gold reflector in front of the brushes to bounce some light in.

Wednesday, 30 September

Wednesday, 30 September

The 8-ball – These are some mini-pool balls from my small pool table.  I placed my flash, behind an umbrella, to the right and very close to the balls.

Thursday, 01 October

Thursday, 01 October

Lipton – I lit this can with my flash, behind an umbrella, to camera-right, and bounced some light into the other side, as well, to create a relatively-symmetrical backlight.  To create a fresh, dewy effect I sprayed the can with water mixed with bath oil (which is supposed to prevent the drops from sliding so much; whether it worked or not is debatable).  I crushed some freshly frozen ice in a fist and sprinkled it onto a piece of glass underneath the drink.

Friday, 02 October

Friday, 02 October

PAINT – This is one of Woolworths’ nail polishes.  I had my mom hold the lid of the bottle until a drop of nail polish began to separate itself from the brush.  In retrospect, it probably would have looked a whole lot better if she had been wearing some of it herself…

Saturday, 03 October

Saturday, 03 October

Order of business – I decided to put this together after seeing an image on 500px, where using a pink background produced pinky shadows.  I had my flash coming from the side of the subject, and I used a piece of pink paper to form the background.

Enjoy the rest of your week!

3 thoughts on “Project 365: Week 40

  1. Ashleigh, these are all wonderful! And I have to tell you that I love the shot of the lipstick!! I had no idea how shots like these are created, so thanks for sharing the technical details. So much to learn …

Leave a Reply

