Project 365: Week 41

I was at a bit of a loss at the beginning of the week as to what theme to follow; eventually I settled on “free-lensing” – the act of taking an image while the lens is detached from the camera.

Sunday, 04 October

Sunday, 04 October

Lipstick kiss – This is a composite of three images; the lipstick I photographed against a white background and then copy-pasted; the lips I downloaded off the internet; and the steamy mirror is a screenshot from a mirror app on my phone.  I took this in accordance with last week’s ‘product’ theme.

Monday, 04 October

Monday, 04 October

Steamy – This was the week’s first free-lensing image; I held my nifty-fifty slightly away from my camera and at an angle to create a subtle tilt-shift effect.  The background consists of the keyboard of my laptop; I wanted to add the feeling of someone sipping hot coffee while checking their emails in the morning (though the image turned out slightly more abstract).

Tuesday, 06 October

Tuesday, 06 October

Optically superior – I came home exhausted after a long day of exams, ready to collapse on the couch, only to find this (not-so-little) guy in our kitchen. Of course, I immediately rushed to get my camera (suddenly imbued with a jolt of energy).  I struggled with the composition before settling on this portrait-style shot, with the spider’s long legs as leading lines.  If you look closely, the spider actually has about eight eyes.

Wednesday, 07 October

Wednesday, 07 October

Flowers from clouds – One of the main techniques in flash photography which sets it apart from natural light photography is the ability to retain details in the shadows and highlights, even at midday, without any post-processing.  For instance, in this shot I exposed for the sky, and then fired my flash from the side to light the shadows.

Thursday, 08 October

Thursday, 08 October

Blushing contours – I love the delicacy of rose petals, surrounded by that pale, velveteen pink.  As free-lensing generally leads to increased softness (due to ‘light leaks’) I figured the two would go well together.

Friday, 09 October

Friday, 09 October

Complementary contours – These are petals from one of our bougainvillea bushes, which seem to thrive in our garden (despite the fact that their flowery cohorts barely last a month). The complement between the deep orange and deep pink flowers, which are growing next to each other, drew my eye.

Saturday, 10 October

Saturday, 10 October

Friendship – a couple of the trees in our atrium (the same as the one I photographed earlier in the week) have been emptying their branches onto the atrium floor.  I thought the colour and texture would make an interesting abstract, so I swept a bunch together and took the image with my nifty-fifty and my flash behind an umbrella, behind the flowers.

Sunday, 11 October

Sunday, 11 October

Bokeh – I taped some Christmas lights to my black backdrop, and positioned my little Lego girl in front of them.  At first I had planned to do a silhouette, but I found the figure to be too unidentifiable, so instead I lit it from the front with my flash and umbrella.

Enjoy the rest of your week!

Leave a Reply

