Project 365: Week 42

This week I eventually settled on a theme of backlit images.  I had a similar theme earlier in the year, before I got my flash, and while I think I’ve improved and changed since then, that week sticks with me as the beginning of my obsession with artificial lighting.

Monday, 12 October

Monday, 12 October

Singing in the rain – This is one of my little Lego dolls, which I have photographed several times before.  I wanted to give the impression that she was dancing in the rain (though my mother later pointed out that she looked like some kind of zealot, and unfortunately I have to agree).  The puddle and splash were created by pouring water through a net, and the image was lit by flash aimed at the wall behind the scene.

Tuesday, 13 October

Tuesday, 13 October

Irrevocable pessimist – I’ve seen many beautiful images on 500px of glasses with perfect rim light, but I must now tell you that it is nowhere near as easy as it looks!  After much adjusting, I finally got this image.  My flash, behind an umbrella, was slightly to the back and the left of the glass.  I think the trick is getting the light at the right angle; more to the side than the back.

Wednesday, 14 October

Wednesday, 14 October

Broken strumming – This is my brother’s old, broken guitar again.  I originally wanted to light it with rim light, before realising that that is actually really difficult, and too much of a feat for such a hot day.  So, instead, I aimed my flash at the wall behind the guitar and tried to make the best out of those lovely curves.

Thursday, 15 October

Thursday, 15 October

Spectacles – these are actually my glasses (I was forced to wear my prescription sunglasses while I shot the image). I wanted to create a studio-type of shot.  I aimed my flash, which had a blue gel on and a tight zoom of 105mm, at the wall behind the glasses.

Friday, 16 October

Friday, 16 October

Radiant cathode – Near the beginning of the year, I saw an image on 500px of a backlit, monochrome lightbulb, and at the time I had no idea how to achieve such an image.  Well, I’m proud to say now that I’ve tried, I think I’ve surpassed the previous image (or at least I’ve surpassed my memory of the image)!

Saturday, 17 October

Saturday, 17 October

Mannequin – This is my mother’s jewellery holder lady, who had her head-branches removed.  I originally strung jewellery from her arms, before deciding that I liked the plain silhouette better.

Sunday, 18 October

Sunday, 18 October

Lonely cab – I’ve wanted a little model car to incorporate into my photos for a while now, and finally found a shop near us which is selling them cheaply.  This is actually a little police car, but I wanted it to look like an cab during the sunset.  I created the yellow tone from attaching two orange gels to my flash.  I quite like the resulting fine-artsy feel.

Enjoy the rest of your week!

5 thoughts on “Project 365: Week 42

Leave a Reply

