Project 365: Week 44

Sticking to the theme of still life images with a conceptual twist, this week I photographed origami figures. Now, spatial reasoning has never really been my thing, so I was quite proud when I managed to make not only a boat but a dragon out of paper (that is, until I looked back and realised I’d wasted hours of my life trying to master the art).

Monday, 26 October

Smooth sailing – this is a tiny boat (made out of about 1/3 of an A4 sheet of paper) which I then presticked to a globe.  My flash was bounced off a large wall behind the subject.  I converted it to black and white in Lightroom, and then added a slight blue split tone to the shadows.

Tuesday, 27 October

Under a cloud – this is actually a composite of three different images; one of the cup and boat, another of the ‘rain’ and ripples in the cup, and another of the ‘cloud’.  I wanted to create an obviously surreal image playing on the idea of a boat sailing in the rain.

Wednesday, 28 October

Within the pages of a book – this image, for me, represents the journeys which take place inside books.  The little boat was made out of newspaper, and stuck on with prestick.  I bounced my flash off a large wall to camera-right.

Thursday, 29 October

Norberta – Yes, my dragon was a bit shabby, but after over an hour of studying various YouTube videos, I wasn’t going to build it again.  I wanted to represent the idea of characters coming to life on the pages of a book.

Friday, 30 October

Paper airplane – it took me about twenty tries (and many lowered expectations) before I got this image, but in the end I was happy with it.  My mother held a paper aeroplane in the air in front of a moody patch of sky, my flash was shot (very harshly) from camera-left, and I narrowed my aperture until details could be seen in the clouds.

Saturday, 31 October

Jetplane –  this ended up being an image focusing solely on the origami itself, rather than being a sort of environmental portrait.  My flash was bounced off the wall to camera-right, creating some very dramatic shadows which I increased in Lightroom.

Enjoy the rest of your week! I’d love to hear your thoughts on my images!

2 thoughts on “Project 365: Week 44

  1. I love those!!! I am waiting to shoot origami inspired shoot someday, one of my friends is taking origami making classes, and I have already asked her that she would make me some for my project. Let`s see when that happens 😀

Leave a Reply

